Welcome


Padraig
Dr. Pádraig Kirk
Director
CPD for Junior Cycle

Welcome
Junior Cycle for Teachers (JCT) is a dedicated continuing professional development (CPD) support service of the Department of Education and Skills. Our aim is to support schools in their implementation of the new Junior Cycle Framework through the provision of appropriate high quality continuing professional development for school leaders and teachers, and the provision of effective teaching and learning resources.
This is a new website, launched in March 2015. You will find everything you need in relation to CPD for the new Framework, and more, right here. JCT is committed to updating the site regularly with information, relevant resources, materials and details of upcoming events. I hope you enjoy browsing our website, and should you have any feedback please let us know!

Dr. Pádraig Kirk
Director
CPD for Junior Cycle

Twitter image

JCT Support




  • Junior Cycle for Teachers (JCT) is a dedicated continuing professional development (CPD) support service of the Department of Education and Skills. The aim of JCT is to support schools in their implementation of the Framework for Junior Cycle through the provision of appropriate high quality continuing professional development for school leaders and teachers, and the provision of effective teaching and learning resources.

    This site contains everything you need in relation to CPD for the new Framework. It will be updated regularly with information, relevant resources, materials and details of upcoming events. I hope you enjoy browsing the site.

    Specifically, by using the tabs on the home page, you will be able to access news and information on the key domains of JCTs service including supports for:

    • School Leaders

    • Whole School

    • Subject Teachers of English and Science

    • Level 2 Learning Programmes

    • Short Courses

    These sections will give readers an overview of the services on offer, of the resources available and of the key personnel to contact for further information. As future subjects reach implementation phase, JCT will provide resources and tools via this site.

    Schools can also register for CPD events via this site.

    Types of Support

    Junior Cycle for Teachers will provide support to schools in the following areas:

    • learning, teaching and assessment

    • implementation of strategies in the context of the Framework’s principles, key skills and statements of learning

    • effective evaluation and assessment practices

    • planning a Junior Cycle programme, including curriculum development incorporating short courses and level two learning programmes (L2LPs)

    • quality assurance, including moderation techniques

    • standardised testing practices

    • information and communication technology (ICT) in the classroom

    • instructional leadership

    Models of support include:
    • Seminars and workshops

    • Teacher-led CPD, supported by JCT

    • School-based support on an individual or cluster basis, with whole staff, subject departments or individual teachers

    • Development and facilitation of communities of practice

    • Collaboration with other national CPD support services and Education Centres

    • Collaboration with Teacher Professional Networks and other education partners on identified projects

    • Provision of CPD materials and resources on www.jct.ie

    • National events, such as conferences

    • Sharing of tools, resources and videos highlighting current practices in schools

    • Email, telephone and other such supports




Contact Us


 If you have a query or require any further information in relation to Junior Cycle for Teachers, you can fill in the enquiry form and select the submit button or contact us directly at:





Administrative Office:
Mec

Junior Cycle for Teachers Support Service (JCT)
Monaghan Education Centre
Knockaconny
Armagh Road
Co. Monaghan
Ireland.

Map
GPS Coordinates
54.263911, -6.944946

Tel: +353 47 74008
Email: info@jct.ie
jctregistration.ie


Director‘s Office:
Lmetb

Junior Cycle for Teachers Support Service (JCT)
LMETB
Chapel Street
Dundalk
Co. Louth
Ireland.

Map
GPS Coordinates
54.005964, -6.398435

Tel: +353 42 9364603
Email: info@jct.ie
jctregistration.ie


Frequently Asked Questions

  • Please note this area of the site will be populated with appropriate resources in due course.



    Please note this area of the site will be populated with appropriate resources in due course.

Team Members


The Director of CPD for Junior Cycle, Dr. Pádraig Kirk, leads the support service.

The Director is supported by two deputy directors, one with responsibility for Whole School Support and School Leadership CPD, while the other has responsibility in the area of Assessment.

The Senior Management group is supported in their work by a cohort of ten JCT leaders; a Subject Leader for English, a Subject Leader for Science, Team Leaders for each of Short Courses and L2LPs and six Regional Leaders with responsibility for whole school CPD provision. Full-time teams of Advisors for English and Science, who develop and deliver teacher CPD, are in place across the six Education Centre regions. Other teams will be recruited as subjects are introduced across the remaining phases of implementation of the Framework. A large team of part-time Associates also operate across these regions, for example, practising school principals and deputy school principals who develop and deliver CPD for school leaders. Our advisors and associates are supported by teams of Local Facilitators to provide dedicated CPD support in key areas as needs arise.







Management

Padraig Kirk
Dr. Pádraig Kirk
Director
CPD for Junior Cycle

Dónal O'Mahony
Dónal O'Mahony
Deputy Director
Whole School Support and School Leadership
donal.omahony@jct.ie

Karol Sadleir
Karol Sadleir
Deputy Director
Assessment
karol.sadleir@jct.ie

Regional Leaders - Whole School Support and CPD

Ursula Diamond
Ursula Diamond
Regional Leader West
Whole School Support and CPD
ursula.diamond@jct.ie

Lorna Lavelle
Lorna Lavelle
Regional Leader East
Whole School Support and CPD
lorna.lavelle@jct.ie

Gerard Duff
Gerard Duff
Regional Leader South West
Whole School Support and CPD
gerard.duff@jct.ie

Anthony Doogan
Anthony Doogan
Regional Leader North West
Whole School Support and CPD
anthony.doogan@jct.ie

Enda Byrne
Enda Byrne
Regional Leader South East
Whole School Support and CPD
enda.byrne@jct.ie

John Hennessy
John Hennessy
Regional Leader North East
Whole School Support and CPD
john.hennessy@jct.ie

Team Leader - L2LP

Sarah Nally
Sarah Nally
Team Leader
Level Two Learning Programmes
sarah.nally@jct.ie

Team Leader - Short Courses

Michael Carey
Michael Carey
Team Leader
Short Courses
michael.carey@jct.ie

English Team

Eoghan Evesson
Eoghan Evesson
Team Leader
English
eoghan.evesson@jct.ie

Niall Murphy
Niall Murphy
Advisor
English
niall.murphy@jct.ie

Emma Gallagher
Emma Gallagher
Advisor
English
emma.gallagher@jct.ie

Mary Gilmore
Mary Gilmore
Advisor
English
mary.gilmore@jct.ie

Rachel Lenihan
Rachel Lenihan
Advisor
English
rachel.lenihan@jct.ie

Emer Whyte
Emer Whyte
Advisor
English
emer.whyte@jct.ie

Lorraine Keenan
Lorraine Keenan
Advisor
English
lorraine.keenan@jct.ie

Gemma Moran
Gemma Moran
Advisor
English
gemma.moran@jct.ie

Emma Davis
Emma Davis
Advisor
English
emma.davis@jct.ie

Science Team

David King
David King
Team Leader (Acting)
Science
david.king@jct.ie

Áine Woods
Áine Woods
Advisor
Science
aine.woods@jct.ie

Dónal O`Laoire
Dónal O`Laoire
Advisor
Science
donal.olaoire@jct.ie

Eadaoin Norris
Eadaoin Norris
Advisor
Science
eadaoin.norris@jct.ie

Business Studies Team

Gary McConway
Gary McConway
Team Leader
Business
gary.mcconway@jct.ie

Sinéad Tuohy
Sinéad Tuohy
Advisor
Business
sinead.tuohy@jct.ie

Emer Morrissey
Emer Morrissey
Advisor
Business
emer.morrissey@jct.ie

Roisín NicLeoid
Roisín NicLeoid
Advisor
Business
roisin.nicleoid@jct.ie

Assessment

Gráinne MackenReid
Gráinne MackenReid
Advisor
Assessment
grainne.mackenreid@jct.ie

Leadership

Fiona O'Brien
Fiona O'Brien
Advisor
Leadership
fiona.obrien@jct.ie

Modern Foreign Languages Team

Claire Matthews
Claire Matthews
Team Leader
Modern Foregn languages
claire.matthews@jct.ie

Judith CallanGough
Judith CallanGough
Advisor
Modern Foreign languages
judith.callangough@jct.ie

Elisabeth Butler
Elisabeth Butler
Advisor
Modern Foreign languages
elisabeth.butler@jct.ie

Clíodhna McManamon
Clíodhna McManamon
Advisor
Modern Foreign Languages
cliodhna.manamon@jct.ie

Art Team

Margaret O'Shea
Margaret O'Shea
Team Leader
Art
margaret.oshea@jct.ie

Ruth Kennington
Ruth Kennington
Advisor
Art
ruth.kennington@jct.ie

Terry Lawless
Terry Lawless
Advisor
Art
terry.lawless@jct.ie

Gemma Tierney
Gemma Tierney
Advisor
Art
gemma.tierney@jct.ie

Gaeilge Team

Roseann Uí Fhlatharta
Roseann Uí Fhlatharta
Advisor
Gaeilge
roseann.uifhlatharta@jct.ie

Frank Milling
Frank Milling
Advisor
Gaeilge
frank.milling@jct.ie

Bernardine NicGiollaPhádraig
Bernardine NicGiollaPhádraig
Advisor
Gaeilge
bernardine.nicgiollaphadraig@jct.ie

Sinéad Ní Shúilleabháin
Sinéad Ní Shúilleabháin
Advisor
Gaeilge
sinead.nishuilleabhain@jct.ie

Wellbeing Team

Betty McLaughlin
Betty McLaughlin
Team Leader
Wellbeing
betty.mclaughlin@jct.ie

Michelle English
Michelle English
Advisor
Wellbeing
michelle.english@jct.ie

John Cullinane
John Cullinane
Advisor
Wellbeing
john.cullinane@jct.ie

Hazel Hannon
Hazel Hannon
Advisor
Welling Being
hazel.hannon@jct.ie

Education Centres

Map Legend:


Region 1 Education Centre image circleRegion 1- North East:
Education Centres


Region 1 Regional Leader image starRegion 1 - North East:
Regional Leader


Region 2 Education Centre image circleRegion 2 - East:
Education Centres


Region 2 Regional Leader image starRegion 2 - East:
Regional Leader


Region 3 Education Centre image circleRegion 3 - South East:
Education Centres


Region 3 Regional Leader image starRegion 3 - South East:
Regional Leader


Region 4 Education Centre image circleRegion 4 - North West:
Education Centres


Region 4 Regional Leader image starRegion 4 - North West:
Regional Leader


Region 5 Education Centre image circleRegion 5 - West:
Education Centres


Region 5 Regional Leader image starRegion 5 - West:
Regional Leader


Region 6 Education Centre image circleRegion 6 - South West:
Education Centres


Region 6 Regional Leader image starRegion 6 - South West:
Regional Leader